Every Day Life

Joy Day in the Scarfone House – December 1

When I was growing up, my elementary school began celebrating Christmas on December 1st – a day we called “Joy Day”.  It was on this day that the Christmas decorating began, Christmas music could start to be played and it was okay to wish people “Merry Christmas”.  In the many many years since this time, the tradition continues for me.  Maybe it’s a weird need for consistency, maybe it’s just something that I cling to to remind me of my childhood.  In any respect, every year on December 1, I pull out my Christmas decorations, listen to Boney M Christmas and watch movies.

A few days before December 1, I head to IKEA (weird place to buy a tree, I know) where I search through tree after tree trying to envision what the bundled branches and needles will look like once it opens up.  I don’t have a strategy – just a gut feeling.  While I haven’t had a bad tree yet, this year certainly has turned out to be the best one yet.

Picture 6

 

Waking up to snow on Joy Day made my heart so happy!

Waking up to snow on Joy Day made my heart so happy!

Just the lights on...

Just the lights on…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I love love my Willow Tree Nativity set

I love love my Willow Tree Nativity set

Decorated!

Decorated!

Let the movie watching begin :)

Let the movie watching begin 🙂

Reminded me of my recent trip to NYC

Reminded me of my recent trip to NYC

Always a classic - any time of the year!

Always a classic – any time of the year!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Decorating for me holds a special place in my heart.  I don’t have a matchy matchy tree (as you can tell from above!).  Instead I have a Christmas tree where every ornament has a story.  When I travel, I collect two things from the major cities/ countries I visit – a picture frame of that place as well as a Christmas ornament.  As I unwrap each special treasure, I am reminded of that trip, of the memories that I made.  I can’t wait for that time when I have someone to share that with – to let into my world of memories.

Until that time – I feel like my Facebook post from late on December 1st says exactly how I feel:

Picture 7

 

Leave a Reply

