2011- Contiki: European Magic / Friends / Important People

My Stella Bella

“Though miles may lie between us, we’re never far apart,

for friendship doesn’t count the miles, it’s measured by the heart.”

Sometimes people come into your life when you least expect it.  When I took my Contiki trip last year, it was a way to honour my grandma, a path of self discovery.  What I didn’t expect, was to meet someone who would who be so important in my life.

Stella Hritis was the tour manager on the tour.  Because I sat near the front of the bus most days (I get terrible motion sickness), we chatted a lot.  It was here that I got to know this wonderful girl.

We traveled across Europe – Amsterdam, Rhine Valley, Munich, Venice, Lucerne and Paris.  I got to know a strong woman with whom I have grown closer to over the last year.  Stella always had a smile on her face and would always go above and beyond for her group.  The 51 of us on the trip really did become like family as evidenced by Stella’s facebook message a week after our trip ended.

Stella has become one of my closest friends – a confidant and someone I turn to in good times and in hard times.

With the help of blackberry messenger and now, WhatsApp, it always feels like Stella is around the corner as opposed to across the ocean in Sydney, Australia- more than 15,000 kilometres away.  Through her surgery, my anxiety and all the ups and downs with the men in our lives – we’ve been there for each other.

Stella – I love you and appreciate our friendship more than you can ever imagine.  I can’t wait until we see each other again.  In the meantime, we’ll continue to be “Canadian/Aussie besties”!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

